Watch with my Mother’s Mother: Bruno Mars

Nan’s back! We saw each other over Christmas and I brought her the Rumer and Take That albums and she brought me a food blender. The other night I tried making a soup in said blender and it came out like purified roadkill, the thought of which still makes me gag. I explained the disaster to my Nan who was sympathetic and also totally unsurprised. We both decided it would be best if I stuck to making smoothies/milkshakes. Anyways, we’re back for 2011 and here’s the first selection, the soon-to-be number 1 ‘Grenade’ by Bruno Mars. As you will see below, Nan was quite worried about poor Bruno by the end.

I liked him. I liked his voice, very nice voice, but a sad song, really nice though. The song’s about rejection really. She’d obviously gone off with somebody else, hadn’t she? I did like the song a lot, but the video…I found it weird. I wasn’t sure about the piano. Why was he doing that? I couldn’t work out what it was meant to represent. I mean, am I being really silly or was it obvious and I’m being, you know? [we chat about what it might mean for a bit].

So carrying a piano about kind of proves something does it? Like a heavy burden? I mean he should have just called her really. Also, the thing that got me was, does he end up under that train? I mean, is he committing suicide at the end there? The whole video is very sad. Such a sad song. It all goes black at the end, so is that the end of him and his piano? I thought it was strange all that and a bit over the top. I get the bit about the piano now which is good because I was a bit worried about that, but what really worried me was him finishing up under the train. The song is just a sort of sad song but, you know, it didn’t make you desperately depressed but the video is…worrying. I didn’t think it was a very good role model [laughs]. The woman in the video wasn’t impressed with him at all. Do you think it was a dream?

He’s got that kind of old school look about him hasn’t he? And completely different to those people he met on the way. I wasn’t quite sure what they represented, those weirdies [amazing]. It was weird that he had his hat on when he was inside and it was raining outside and then he didn’t have it on when he went outside. In the old days it was rude to wear a hat indoors but nowadays they do it all the time. Why wear your hat in your bedroom?

I do like his voice, that sort of lovely, soft voice if you know what I mean. It’s like Michael Jackson, that tone of voice that is natural and soulful. He’s not a typical star but he’ll probably last longer, his songs seem a bit deeper than normal if you know what I mean. I quite liked the lyrics, but I thought it was quite unusual the “grenade” part, but probably quite topical.

Song: 8

Video: 6 It worried me a bit, the ending

One response to “Watch with my Mother’s Mother: Bruno Mars

  1. nice………………………………..nice……………………………………………………………………………..^_^bnice……………………………………………………………………………..^_^b……………………………………………^_^b

Leave a Reply

